green tomato ketchup

more green tomatoes

This time of year is sleepy and chilly in the garden and there are only a few bits and bobs still needing attention… namely the green tomatoes (and some more sauerkraut). I already put up my favorite green tomato “verde salsa” en mass, and the whole monitoring of endless green tomatoes is a little to exhausting for me, so I opted to can a big batch of ketchup, green tomato ketchup that is. I still have a few pounds of green toms to consider but the stress of the sorting and storing is all nicely put up in pint jars, whew.  Apparently this recipe goes really well with tourtiere and other such meaty dishes, and is pretty popular in Quebec. This batch got me thinking about the holidays with all this tourtiere talk… I think i might finally try my had at a French Canadian classic meat pie this year. I have been making my own ketchup for a few years now, and this green tomato spin was calling for me to give it ago. I read a half dozen well reviewed recipes and settled on my own seasoning blend, the results were bright and hot and really well spiced… I can see that meat pairings would be nice here.

I also had a good yield of still-not-red cayenne peppers which I pulled from the green house in my final fall clean and decided to flush this recipe with some unknown heat elements… turns out, though not ripe and red the peppers were still pretty kicking, which I love.

green tomato ketchup

In a large heavy bottomed pot combine and cook:

6 lbs of green tomatoes chopped

2 1/2 lbs onions chopped

1/2 lb hot peppers minced

6 cloves of garlic

1 cup white vinegar

1 cup apple cider vinegar

season with:

1 tsp clove powder

1 tbsp dried ginger

1 tsp sea salt

1 tbsp worcester sauce

2 tbsp black pepper

Boil and bubble for at least an hour

Then add 1 cup honey or cane sugar

and 1 tsp turmeric just to pump up the colour.

Simmer for another 20 minutes while you get you big ‘ol canning pot boiling.

Portion into sterilized jars and hot water bath process for 10 minutes.

Enjoy

cooking down green tomatoes

One Trackback to “green tomato ketchup”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

