rapid fire posting + roasting

Welcome!

This is the first of what will be a series of posts about my adventures as an Ethicarian. For some time I have been shooting pics and documenting great recipes using foods from my tiny but abundant garden and from many great local growers, And now after a decade of working in the food industry (mainly in Natural, Organic and Special Dietary) my businesses are sold and I finally have some time to start sharing them. I was just going through some yummy images from my hefty tomato yield this summer, and I think that is as good a place as any to begin.

What I hate most about winter is the lack of juicy warm from the sun tomatoes 😦

The summer of 09 was by far the highest quality yield of tomatoes we have harvested to date. We grew some beautiful organic tiger tomatoes, a nice variety of HUGE beef-house heirloom (one no joke was the size of my daughters face), organic roma’s (which were a bit pulpy, but great for sauces), and finally about a zillion of the sweet million variety of  cherry tomatoes.

In an effort to save some of this abundance I slow roasted and frozen about 6lbs of these tasty summer treats, and now I delight in using them…

Slow Roasted Tomatoes

Half cherry tomatoes or slice larger ones 1/4 – 1/2″ thick

Place on baking sheet spaced evenly (not overlapping), generously coat with olive oil,  sprinkle with sea salt and pepper, and add few whole cloves of garlic.

Roast at 250º for a few hours (depending on the size of your tomatoes) the small ones took maybe 2.5 the larger one (which I roasted on a separate sheet) took about 4 hours.

Cool and eat, puree, or freeze!

I ate about half of them right away, with cheese and bread, on toast with butter, and on salads, the rest got bagged and hit the deep freeze.

One Comment to “rapid fire posting + roasting”

  1. Omg delicious. I will definitely be doing this! 🙂
    (Though it is so easy to get spoiled in California with our year-round growing season.)

Leave a Reply

