squash ravioli with rosemary brown butter sauce

I LOVE LOVE LOVE pasta, fresh home made and to die for!

Tonight my daughter and I celebrated my having a cast removed from my right arm, by  spending an hour rolling kneading and dough, I am thinking that dough making will be good physiotherapy for my wrist recovery. I usually made a semolina pasta but tonight I tried a classic wheat flour recipe from the joy of cooking and it was really lovely. I am going to play with my new found black bean flour and work on a gluten free fresh dough later this week, but for now this divine dinner was all about the filling:

Ravioli filling:

In a small cast iron pan brown 2 cloves of garlic + 1 shallot (or a leek stalk, which i used as I had one kicking around)

add  1 small roasted butternut squash, diced (you could also boil the squash if you are pressed for time)

add about 3/4 of a cup of vegetable stock and  mash the mixture in the pan until it is smooth and creamy (you could use a food processor)

season with s+p, crushed hot chilli, and 1 tbsp maple syrup.

Rosemary brown butter sauce:

Normally I wouldn’t use meat in this dish, but had on hand a really lovely organic pork sausage from Sunworks Farm (a great local source!)

I diced into tiny bits + browned the sausage using a little olive oil.

then I added a big big big slab of butter and over medium heat let it brown, just. To stop it from getting to dark, I removed it from the heat and added a swig of olive oil, a pinch of S+P and some fresh rosemary.

To plate these perfect raviolis which I boiled for about 2 minutes, I spooned a mere 2 tbsp of the butter sauce bits and all over the pasta, topped with a sprinkle of aged cheddar and another bit of fresh rosemary. mmm.

Leave a Reply

