Wholewheat Apple Cheese Tart with Cranberry Balsamic Glaze

I first made this amazing tart this Christmas in a double size batch and I used cherries my boyfriends sister picked off her neighbors tree in BC and I used honey goat cheese rather than cream cheese as I did today.  The cherry cheese tart was a whopping hit, and we enjoyed it into the new year (the tart pan I used was 20” so it was really big!

Today I found lovely fresh organic BC apples that cried to be turned into a tart, Also I decided to glaze it this time around, and I reached for a jar of EDIBLE GARDENS Coastal Cranberry preserve. Michael the owner of Edible Garden had done a wonderful job combining tart fruits with great quality balsamic vinegars to make stunning cheese toppers. I would have used my own fig balsamic jam made this year… but I am running dangerously low, and it will be a long time before I get to pick figs fresh off a tree again to restock!


Wholewheat Apple Cheese tart with cranberry balsamic glaze

1/2 cup soft butter, blended by hand in a large bowl with 1/3 organic cane sugar, a splash of vanilla, and 1 cup of organic whole wheat flour. Bring together until you can form a ball. Press dough into a tart pan and bake at 400º for 15-20 minutes, set aside and make cheese mixture.

1 cup cream cheese (or half and half goat cheese, mascarpone would be lovely too)blend with 1 egg and a pinch of cane sugar. Spread mix onto cooling tart crust.

Toss fruit (thinly sliced if using apple strawberries or pear) into a bowl with a little cane sugar and coat. Place the fruit neatly into the cheese, and bake for another 30-40 minutes (remove at 30 minutes if you are adding the following glaze)

In a small saucepan warm 2 tbsp of cranberry balsamic preserve, add 1/3 cup of water and a little pad of butter, bring to a low boil and allow to thicken just slightly. I used a submersion blender to get rid of the whole cranberry pieces, and make a nice bright syrup. Neatly spoon over the browned tart (not too much, just a even thin coating) and continue to bake for another 5-10 minutes. At this point my edges were already as brown as I wanted them so I placed a tart pan ring one size larger over the edge before popping back in for the final minutes.

Cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

