Gooey Gluten Free Gouda Mac n Cheese

Gooey Gluten Free Gouda Mac n Cheese

In this classic comfort food recipe I love using organic corn elbows, mainly because they hold up well to being re-baked, and they are yellow-orange, which makes the dish look even cheesier!

Boil to el dante 3 cups of corn elbow macaroni (or what ever you like) drain and set aside reserve about 2 tbsp of pasta water.

Basic rue

2 tbsp butter + 2.5 tbsp brown rice flour bubble and brown and stir constantly. grate fresh nutmeg and garlic into rue, and slowly add about 1 cup of milk or cream. season with a little squeeze of mustard and S+P (I use white pepper in this to keep the sauce all white)

When this is nice a thick (you can add extra milk if needed) add about 3/4 cup of semi soft cheese rind removed (I used a yummy French camembert) stir and them add slowly 1 cup of shredded aged gouda (SYLVAN STAR is my favorite local cheese maker) Shred an additional 1 cup of aged white cheddar, add 1/4 to this sauce, lower temp and your ready to assemble.

Add 1/2 the pasta to a cassorole dish and sprinkle with 1/4 c of the cheddar and 1/2 of the sauce, mix, and add the balance of the pasta and another 1/4 cup of cheddar. Top with white rice cheddar bread crumb and the rest of the cheese.

I didn’t have any gluten free bread crumbs on hand so I just slowly pan toasted 2 slices of bread and then smashed them all up.

Broil on high  uncovered for 5 minutes or until golden brown. Dig in!

3 Responses to “Gooey Gluten Free Gouda Mac n Cheese”

  1. GGFG Mac n Cheese. I’ll have to try that one some time.
     
     
     
    BTW you’ve got comport food instead of comfort food.

  2. thanks for the spelling note! I do have a disclaimer on my SOLE food Summary…

    “BIG BUT… If you are typo copy nazi, this blog is really NOT for you.. I will infuriate you to no end. Simply I am here to get the word out and share my ideas, not by grammar skills. FAIR WARNING*

    I hope you enjoy the mac ‘n cheese!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

