Cardamon Orange Marshmallows

This latest kitchen creation is a bit of a cross roads between my usual ethical guidelines and a self indulgent experiment in pleasing my daughter. Her and I have been planning on making homemade marshmallows since I bought a vintage candy thermometer last summer, I kept finding other things to make rather than a batch of sugary gelatin confections, but the day finally came and now that they are made, I must admit they are pretty divine in texture and taste. I used all organic ingredients, with exception of the gelatin powder, if I make these again, I will certainly try a vegan substitute, and I will use maple sugar instead of corn syrup (which I despise)

The process is pretty simple and just requires some heavy duty clean up and a little time.

Cardamon Orange Marshmallows

In a stand mixer bloom 3 packs (21 g) gelatin in 1/2 cup cold water, let bloom 10 minutes. I

n the meantime combine 2 cups of cane sugar, 3/4 cup white corn syrup, and 1/2 cup water in a saucepan. Bring mix to a boil and using a candy thermometer bubble until your temp reaches 250º (hard ball). Slowly add boiling mix into gelatin bloom and mix for 10-12 minutes, start with a slow speed (to avoid boiling sugar eruptions) and gradually increase speed to med –high. Add 1 tsbp vanilla and after about 10 minutes your mix should look like marshmallow, and have doubled in size.

Use an oiled spatula and pour / spoon into a prepared dish or tray. There are a few methods I read to prepared your pan, I just used a large deep baking pan, and poured the mix on to a reusable silpat sheet, I then oiled my hand with canola and patted and spread the mix until it was flat and my desire thickness. You can dust a pan with oil and or a blend of icing sugar and corn starch if you prefer. Let set at room temp for up to 12 hours.

After about 2 hours or so I cut the sheet into small squares which I rolled in a few different finishes, the traditional marshmallow would get rolled into a blend of icing sugar and corn starch. The ones I like the best I added orange zest and freshly ground cardamom seeds (from about 18 green pods) to cane sugar and dredged the squares in that. We also made cinnamon sugar ones.

So will I make these again?.. maybe with the above mentioned adjustments, they certainly look beautiful and I think they would be divine in a hot cup of cocoa. And If I had a sweet tooth I would for sure make more…

One Trackback to “Cardamon Orange Marshmallows”

Leave a Reply

