Venison + Stout Stew

There is nothing quite as warming as a hostess gift that includes bundles of game meat and bottles of home made stout. OMG I was in heaven, so I have Dan to thank for this cozy comfort stick to your ribs Sunday dinner!

I thawed about a pound of venison stew meat, which consisted of  lovely huge chunks of beautiful game, not at all the way I think of stew meat, there was no sinew or fatty bits. I cut the chunks into a little smaller portions and tossed them in potato flour seasoned with S+P and cumin.

In my big soup pot I started this stew with olive oil a few good glugs, a couple carrots, 2 celery stocks and a yellow onion all chopped into similar size pieces. slowly brown all these veggies and then add about 1/2” of broth (what ever you have, I used a turkey broth I made over Christmas with my GIANT Winters turkey and froze down) To this I add 3 bay leafs, a whole sprig of rosemary, 5 chopped cloves of garlic.

While these veggies are simmering with just a little broth, get a large heavy bottom pan nice and hot and sear all sides of the coated meat in hot canola oil. When just seared not cooked through toss into stew pot with the veg and quickly deglaze the frying pan with about 1 cup of stout. * This can be a problem when you are arm-wrestling your partner for the last of the mighty home brewed glorious dark beer, finally we shared and he really enjoyed the outcome, as he got to enjoy it twice!

Add the pan dripping stout sauce to the stew along with about 4 more cups of stock. Throw in some cubed potatoes and sweet potatoes, cover and start simmering on low for a few hours.

Throughout the course of this cook time, I add seasoning sporadically, and my best summary of what made this so good is apox: a dash of balsamic vinegar, a dash of apple cider vinegar, a dollop or red pepper spread, more cumin, chili powder, black and white pepper, and a dried herb mix I made from the summer garden, which has thyme, oregano, rosemary, & sage, and some of my favorite blend of sea salt with chili + garlic.

Serve with warm rolls and DO NOT give leftovers to the dog… because it does not smells nearly as good the second time round! On that note… ENJOY.

Leave a Reply

