Garlic honey mustard leftover lentil salad

Likely if you have made lentils recently you have a whack left over. I always soak and cook way too many, and this is exactly what my boyfriends mom did the other night when she made us a lovely dinner, So I was sent home with a jar of cooked lentils just dying for some tasty companions.

Mmm I am eating this salad while I type the recipe and I can’t stop myself from thinking of all the other great veggie combos that would be perfect in this dish. I think just about any veggies would work just fine, as the real stars here are the grains, lentils, seeds and the sauce! (I just diced up a little of everything sitting around the fridge) Also I love eating this salad while the grain is still warm and all the veggies are cool, but it is just as lovely cooled thoroughly.

In a large bowl mix up your dressing while cooking 1 cup of quinoa (or use left over rice) The dressing starts with a big squeeze of mustard (about 1 tbsp) Sea Salt, Pepper, lemon zest, 1 tbsp sesame oil, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1 tbsp garlic honey, 3 tbsp (ish) of extra virgin olive oil, and a dash of red wine vinegar or apple cider vinegar.  mix well and add 1 cup cooked lentils, and the following veggies I diced into tiny cubes: about 6 baby carrots, 1/4 red onion, 1 clove garlic, 1 tiny zucchini, 2 celery stocks, 1 handful of baby spinach. Then add 1 big pinch (like 1-2 tbsp) of each flax seed, hemp seed, sunflower seed, and pumpkin seed. Toss with the cooked quinoa (about 1 cup) mix and enjoy!

* I will finally start catching up on posting all the recipes I have accumulated over the last 3 weeks, of little activity. stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

