Barley Beet and Bean Burger

The only thing weird about this burger is that the beets give the patties a raw red meat colour! That aside these patties are really substantial and tasty. I added cheese into the mix but you could leave it aside for a great vegan patty which I have made with tofu instead of cheese many times. Also we devoured them so quickly I didn’t have a chance to take a picture of one all dolled up, so as you can see I just have a shot of my little one enjoying a big bite!

Boil 1 cup of pearl barley with 2 1/4 cups of water for 20 minutes or until water is absorbed (this recipe will work best if the barley is a little mushy and over cooked). While your boiling the grain; grate about 1/2 c of sweet potato,1/2 c beet and 1 carrot blend in large bowl and mix with 1 tbsp canola oil, S+P, 1/4 cup goat feta chopped or medium tofu, 1 tbsp pesto, 1/4 c pumpkin seeds, & 1 tbsp flax seeds. Blend all of this together with 1 can of refried pinto beans and the hot barley once it’s cooked.

Form into patties and refrigerate to set up for as much time as you can up to 1 day.

I don’t have an working oven right now (so sad I know:( I have a beautiful vinatge stove out in the wood shed with no electrician to help me rewire it yet) so I had to just pan fry these, but I would suggest that you bake the patties on a cookie sheet at about 350º for 20 minutes and then pan sear them in hot oil until both sides are golden brown. I had to sear them off then reduce the heat to allow the inside to cook a little. Dress and serve these as you would any burger, enjoy!

4 Comments to “Barley Beet and Bean Burger”

  1. Hi there! I just came accross your blog, and as a celiac (allergy to gluten) I checked your gluten-free recipes. This one startled me because barley contains gluten! I’m not sure to whom your gluten free recipes are addressed, but I wouldn’t recommend anyone suffering from celiac disease to eat barley!

    • Hi there, thanks for pointing that out. I have corrected the tag. Our family went through a gluten free period, and it eventually transitioned to a wheat free period only. I think this recipe just got mis tagged as gluten free rather than just wheat free. I assure you I am not trying to cause anyone undue stomach pain. I ran a gluten free bakery for nearly 8 years and I certainly know the dangers of cross contamination. Luckily most celiacs wouldn’t make this mistake. I often post recipes and add tags as to how to substitute to make alternative allergy friendly versions…. which is why you may actually see some meat recipes tagged as vegetarian, as it comes with a substitution***

  2. This looks delicious and uses the ingredients I often have on hand. This might be a very silly question…but should the beets and sweet potato be grated and go into the patty raw?

    • Hi Andy,

      Yes grate them in raw, and they will soften quickly in the patty / ball cooking process. I hope you enjoy this recipe, which I often make with the addition of rolled quinoa flakes now too.

Leave a Reply

