Kimchi, Kraut, elder-bubble and gingerbread

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well I just finished kimchi part 2 and it was sooooo very easy! I did 5 jars of squash kimchi, 1 large jar of sauerkraut  all the while I drank gin with elderflower syrup and soda water. The drink is divine; slightly sour crisp with a floral finish, I used my best organic green juniper berry gin and I can’t imagine a more refreshing summer night drink. Next year I will collect way more elderflowers and make more than 3L of syrup, which is what I yielded after two batches. 2L I have ready to drink and I froze 1L down to use for making plum jelly, just as soon as my plumbs are ripe.

I also broke down and made zucchini bread today; I know I know everyone hates the stuff, but inspired by “A home made Life by Molly Wizenberg” and her ginger chocolate banana bread so I tricked my daughter into making chocolate ginger bread with just a little bit of zucchini 🙂 instead of bananas. I used the Joy of Cooking’s zucchini bread recipe with lots of tweaks (as I usually do) I added cocoa powder, diced candy ginger, and lots of Callebaut chocolate chunks, and it passed the Mia test!

More on fermenting in my last post…

2 Comments to “Kimchi, Kraut, elder-bubble and gingerbread”

  1. I love Zucchini bread by the way! Oh and Sauerkrout and KimChi…

  2. Ad,

    Thanks so much for all your sweet feedback! You’ll have to come out for kimchi making next summer! I am defiantly perfecting the krout too!

    miss you and luv you!

    xo

Leave a Reply

