fall snacks

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am starting to play with more savoury breads as the season change and I am looking forward to sharing more of these recipes with you all as I assemble some winners. Today I am working on pretzels, so I will report on my findings shortly.

Last night I threw together a really simple succotash to use up some left over shredded cabbage I couldn’t fit into a crock. We finally ran out of sauerkraut, just as we were all getting so used to having it on top of everything 😦  I am making a HUGE batch of green cabbage kraut as well as a smaller batch using purple cabbage that I will spice up a bit with ginger, garlic and chilli. But back to the succotash…. likely I am breaking traditionalist rules by calling our dinner a succotash but as I am not from the South nor have I ever tasted a true succotash, I figure when I fry corn and beans or veggies that pretty much makes for succotash onto itself. So here is what I made, and it was great I served it over brown basmati rice.

In a cast iron pan brown 1/2 onion with 2 cloves of garlic and a 1/2 pepper (I used a darling black pepper I grew.. and notably it was the only one that grew) brown these in oil and butter with S+P until just translucent. Add 8 slices of diced cured back bacon (or 6 slices or standard bacon or as the British call it streaky bacon). Let  everything brown on medium for about 5-8 minutes.

Add 1 cup of cubed summer squash (because no meal around here is complete without some squash snuck in) and kernels from 2 medium ears of corn. To this I added about 1 huge tbsp of a N’awlins spice mix I bought from a gal last year at Christmas Millarville Market. It’s a blend of paprika, peppers thyme salt and likely some garlic and onion granuils too. I think paprika and chili would be a great substitute here. Allow the corn and squash to cook for another 5 minutes along with a dash of red wine vinegar.

Finally add 2 cups of shredded cabbage to the top of the pan (don’t mix in yet) reduce heat to low and add S+P to the cabbage, a glug of maple syrup, and a splash of lemon juice. Leave this all for about 10 minutes, or long enough to take the scraps out to the chickens and enjoy the comedy therein, admired new chicken coop in progress, gets plates ready for dinner, toss and serve with a sprinkle of nutritional yeast.

Last week I started playing with raw and non baked granola bar type recipes because I want to incorporate  more chia seed into my families diet. It is a wonderful super food (you may know as salba) I came up with my own modified recipe inspired from this chow gallery on power bars. The bars were a huge hit and disappeared within hours. I then made them at the cafe I now bake at 2 days a week and same thing… all gone! The recipe I made was simply seeds, nut butter, date puree and rice syrup. So satisfying. I’ll whip up another batch today after the pretzels!

I started picking concord grapes yesterday under stunning blue skies in the warm 25º sunshine! I don’t have enough yet for jelly so I started a freezer bag which I hope to fill in the next week, and get this jelly making done soon!

One more batch of pickled cuc’s and carrots today, this time spicy large jars.

Leave a Reply

