more squash and more pickling

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There doesn’t seem to be an end to the preserving of things these days…. My sweet neighbor brought over the most beautiful pale green tiny zucchini’s yesterday I sliced them up along with some beautiful jumbo shallots and made mustard garlic quick refrigerator pickles, which smells divine! I can’t wait to try these. I also did a huge batch of sauerkraut both green cabbage flavored with juniper berries and red cabbage with some garlic and hot chili too.

Last post I did while letting a new bread recipe rise and I was honestly really happy with the results. Pretzel making was a first for me the recipe I tried was really easy and didn’t involve too much waiting or hand kneading for that matter! We devoured 16 pretzels and a batch of super garlicky lemon mustard dip within 18 hours! The dough was proofed, boiled salted and then baked. I think this would also be a great start to a bagel recipe…

The chickens got to open graze the garden the other day and it was wonderful to watch them adventuring, they all came home when it was time… and a huge zucchini to bait them in made it easy, although if I am honest i think even the bird are growing tired of zucchini!

I am still picking grapes like mad trying to get 5 lbs ready for jelly. And on the mushroom front OMG we have massive plumes of fungi EVERYWHERE! Never in my life have I seen so many species of mushrooms, they are simply everywhere I look and walk. I can’t wait to do this edible mushroom forage adventure this weekend! The other event I am looking forward to is our local barter fair, hosted by the local natives it is a three day music and cultural fest complete with bartering and trading of supplies! I have bundled up 100g baggies of organic Spirolina, & Licorish Root, and I am going to make a big batch of my Chia Power Squares to trade. My daughter has sorted and bagged dozens of beautiful feather from our heritage birds, I think she will do well trading them!

The quick pickled zucchini recipe I did was a hybrid version of Martha Stewart and Heidi Swanson;s recipes. Here is what I did:

Slice 1/8” pieces of zuchini, I used about a dozen tiny zuc’s, slice 1 large shallot 1/8” toss in a bowl with 2 tbsp of salt, let mix sit in a towel in the fridge to dry for at least an hour.. I let it drain for about 4 hours and still put the mix in a salad spinner and got some excess water out. This might be best to do over night.

Boil a brine of the following items: 4 cups of water, 2 cups of white vinegar, 2 cups of apple cider vinegar, 1/2 cup cane sugar, 1/2 cup honey, and 2 tbsp each yellow mustard and grainy mustard. (You could use mustard powder and seeds here.. I just couldn’t find my last box of spices since the move, so I substituted)

Sterilize mason jars. This yielded 2x 1L portions. In the bottom of each jar place 2 garlic cloves + 8 black pepper corns , then fill with zucchini and onion slices, top with your boiling brine and place a clean lid on the jars. Store in the fridge for at least a week before eating, they can stay there in use for 1 month.

These would be great on a burger, or as a quick salad just add to the top of green’s and you have veg and dressing all in one.

One Trackback to “more squash and more pickling”

Leave a Reply

