Chantrelles & Moma Cows

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The garden is finally frosting and getting ready for a long winters rest. I have lots of work to do to clean up the beds and do some due diligence work to keep spring couch grass at bay. The garlic is getting planted tomorrow in a deep dark bed of soil from my first Kootenay compost pile! Currently I am drowning in grapes so I am going to attempt a batch of grape juice tomorrow, I had hoped to dry some and make raisins except the grapes I am flush with right now are seeded and after removing seeds from a few I decided juice would be more fun to make.

While I write this I am drinking the most delicious cup of tea ever, made with creamy delicious milk from the glowing mommy cow you see above. It doesn’t get much closer to your local food source than a gift of fresh milk 😉

Last night I whipped up a small batch of yellow pickled beets, which are sure to be my last pickles of the year.I couldn’t resist buying 10 lbs from a no spray farm we visited in Chilliwak last week, they were $2 a bag! I really love the recipe I am using for pickling beets which includes vinegar, apple cider vinegar, honey and cinnamon sticks, yum!

Mia came home from school today with a lovely little selection of Chanterelle mushrooms, as her class did a mushroom walk with the same biologist who taught our excursion 2 weeks ago.  So I did an Asian inspired stir fry of Chanterelles with tofu and pumpkin seeds on a bed of brown basmati rice for dinner tonight that was pretty divine if I do say so. (recipe below)

I was also thrilled to make a really great salsa verde yesterday from my very own garden tomatillos, they are so bright and fresh and green tasting. Last night I served this with a quick black bean taco on corn tortilla’s and the salsa stole the show, the beans were great don;t get me wrong but the bright punch was perfect with the smoky black beans!

Chantrelle Tofu Satay on Brown Basmati

Gently brush mushrooms with a pastry brush or a sponge, trim base, and cut into quarters and then half each piece. In a cast iron skillet brown 1/2 of a yellow onion finely diced and 1 large minced clove of garlic in your favorite cooking oil, cook until translucent then add mushrooms and season with black pepper. Gently toss the mushrooms so both sides are cooking, and after about 3 minutes add thin cubes of firm tofu and season the works with sea salt, chili flakes & freshly grated ginger. Allow this to brown for about 5 minutes and then add a dollop of butter, a dash of soy sauce, juice from 1 lime, and a little rice wine vinegar, toss in a handful of pumpkin seeds and once everything is golden finish with a drizzle of sesame oil. Serve on brown basmati rice with a little nutritional yeast.

Salsa Verde

4 fresh tomitillos super finely diced, 1 jalepeno minced, 2 garlic cloves minced, 1/4 red onion super finely diced, S+P, the juice from 2 limes, a little glug of olive oil and  a pinch of ancho chili flake. let the flavors come together for at least an hour before serving.

*I dreamed last night of my chickens laying eggs… so I checked the coop today but alas there are none yet…. but soon I sense. Those chooks have moved into adolesence and the boys are getting frisky, which is really comical watching them work on their moves! Can’t wait for our first egg.

Leave a Reply

