Mountain Morning Fuel

It has been dumping snow here for 3 days, not too cold out but epic amounts of snowfall… feet and feet and feet. So we need some good fuel to keep us going as just walking out to collect eggs in the morning take just a little more effort when the snow is above your knees!

I don’t intend to insult anyone by attempting to tell you how to make oatmeal, but what I did want to share is the combination of toppings we enjoyed today and just how I incorporated them so they were hearty and oh so yummy.

The above oatmeal is full of warm aromatics; vanilla sugar cane, cinnamon, maple syrup, currants dates, hazelnuts and hemp seeds. These days I have been using an organic quick oatmeal and I cooked 1 1/3 cup of it as the package directs with water and salt. What I did differently is I added about 6 pitted dates finely sliced along with 1/2 cup of dried currants into the boiling the water and oats, along with an extra 1/2 cup of fresh milk. Cooking the dried fruit a little softened it up and they were buttery smooth and juicy. I also cooked in about 1 tbsp of cinnamon and 1 tbsp of cane sugar ; which I infused in a 1 gallon jar with a whole vanilla bean (I have been using for everything from tea to baking). Once the oats were cooked I dished it up and topped it with hazelnuts, and hemp seeds and a good glug of maple syrup. Yum, so very warm, so very fast, and a great thing to eat before a morning snowshoe.

Leave a Reply

