Tequila Sunrise and Texan Roosters

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last weekend we broke out the propane turkey deep fryer, and invited some friends over for a Texan fry up. We thawed and seasoned Paul, Ringo and George (our most newly departed Roosters). Two of the boys got a Franks Red Injection and the last Beatle got a garam masala rub down and all of them hit the corn oil, in rotation with french fries and corn fritters. This was our first success at poultry frying (anyone who attended our Easter ’10 TexasTurkey Mishap knows how earned this success was!). The night was wonderful the birds a hit and in fact the chickens disappeared so fast I didn’t even have a chance to snap a picture of them in all their golden glory. I did however roast another rooster the following night and part of the leftovers from him became maybe the best chicken stew I have ever made, and the rest went into this saucy smoky southern dish, assembled with left over basmati brown rice and rooster.

A few years ago I made some spice blend sets for Christmas presents and my favorite blend “Chili Hot Hot” snuck it’s way into many many a dish after that holiday season. The other day I was inspired to create another batch chili blend and I came up with what I am calling Tequila Sunrise. Using some of the most punchy bright and fresh organic spices  and made a chipotle, paprika, chili, garlic lemon rub with a hit of toasted cumin. Yum. The blend is kick your ass hot and I went a little far on it’s virgin run; but this is what I threw together and it was smoking good! You could and likely should (unless your a masochist like me) keep the this toned down version:

Tequila Sunrise Rice Bowl

In large pot start to warm small pieces of left over chicken (or use baked tofu if your against the whole factory chicken thing and don’t have a freezer full of roosters you once loved and fed well and adored) anyways, start with about 2 cups of cooked protein and about 1 cup of water over medium heat, add to this about 3 cups of cooked rice along with 1 tsp of your Tequila Sunrise Chili blend (or 2tbsp taco seasoning would do), add 1/2 cup of corn or cooked black beans, & diced chives. The chili blend is pretty punchy so I didn’t add any other herb seasoning other than a pinch of salt, but I did add 2 tbsp molasses, a good squeeze of tomato puree / or ketchup, a dollop of maple syrup and if I had cilantro on hand I would have tossed it in to finish. We had this for lunch and my partner thought it belonged in a wrap, I however thought it was like sweet BBQ chili, either way it was super fast, easy and fiery.

Leave a Reply

