Coconut Beans & Rice

So I had a big old pot of soaked pinto beans I had to serve up along with 3 cups of cooked brown rice in the fridge and I decided (on the cuff like so many of my culinary decisions) to create a coconut beans and rice dish and it was truly a wonderful adventure in eating.

I started by boiling about 2 cups of pinto beans which had soaked overnight in just water for 40-60 minutes in a large deep pot. cook the beans with no seasoning, no salt, no citrus, just add hot water as needed and cook until they are done to your liking.

Once your beans are just tender add 4 cups of vegetable stock along with a minced small yellow onion, and 2 large minced garlic cloves, a thumb of grated ginger  and one lime leaf. Let these simmer for 15 minutes, before adding your cooked rice and now some seasoning. I hit this with some Braggs, fish sauce, S+P, lemon juice and, cumin, and paprika. Allow all the flavours to come together adding more water as needed, allow to bubble away for another 10 minutes or so. Finally add 3/4 cup dried organic coconut powder* and stir through, cooking for another 5 or so minutes. Now serve and garnish with fresh chives, crumbled goat feta and a kick of hot pepper sauce. Mmm it’s like eating Cuban beans and rice in Vietnam!

* Coconut milk powder is my new favorite way to buy and use and store coconut milk. It is really economical and you don’t have a can to deal with after, and one box equals about 6 cans.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments to “Coconut Beans & Rice”

  1. no… looks great though. how did you enjoy it?

    • I loved it. I joked that an alternative title could be: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Start Enjoying Animal Fat. She’s big on fruit and veg–she advocates having a salad at every meal–but she’s just as big on raw milk/cream, butter, and lard. She also breaks down a lot of the misconceptions that are out there about fat and cholesterol. And once you read it you’re like, “Oh, yeah that makes sense. Why did I ever think low-fat food worked?”
      If you get a chance to read it, I’d love to hear your take on it.

      Also, slightly unrelated, just got home from spending the day on a citrus/avocado farm a couple hours south of here. I’m so tanned and dirty and happy. 🙂
      And with all the samples I had of things, I’m pretty sure I have vitamin C coming out of my eyeballs.

Leave a Reply

