warm quinoa miso salad

I am starting on a bit of a miso journey, you see I have never really enjoyed miso, although I believe I have only had it in miso soup and I think possibly and hopefully it is the Dash itself I am not too found of.  I now have in my possession 3 types of miso and I am really wanting to incorporate it into more of my meals, other than the staggering health benefit of eating miso I want to add miso to my arsenal of super foods I think our bodies need to combat all sorts of toxic inputs we are exposed to on a daily basis. Certainly this concern has been heightened due to the situation in Japan today, but more and more I feel we ought to protect ourselves naturally from the impacts of this chemical cocktail world we live in!

So I am increasing my families daily intake of these items: kelp, spirolina, barley grass, apple fibre, beet, vitamin c + d, and miso. Most of these are covered with the super greens we take daily, but kelp and miso are things that I am going to try to add into our food often!

My first plunge into the world of miso was pretty successful! I made a warm quinoa salad with fried tofu and a miso dressing. I thought the combination was really bright and fresh and it came together fairly easily…

you’ll need:

1 cup cooked quinoa

1/2 brick of firm organic tofu

1/2 yellow onion

2 cloves of garlic

1″ fresh ginger

2 green onions

1/2 cup cubed cucumber

2 grated carrots

1/2 cup toasted sunflower seeds

Braggs, lemon juice, S+P

for dressing:

2 tbsp organic light miso

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp hemp oil

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tbsp rice vinegar

pinch sugar

grated ginger

Pepper

Cook quinoa according to directions on package. In a pan brown cubed tofu, diced onion and minced garlic in olive oil along with grated fresh ginger, & S+P. Once everything is golden brown hit it with a splash of Braggs, and some lemon juice. remove from heat.

In a glass jar bring together dressing and shake well.

In a large bowl grate carrot, add diced cucumber, green onions, & toasted sunflower seeds. To the fresh veggies add warm tofu and onions, then add  still warm quinoa, toss with dressing and serve. This is also great cold!

Leave a Reply

