garam roasted pineapple & yam

Mmm my whole house smelled fabulous as these veggies and pineapple chunks roasted away in sweet juice sending wafts of garlic, cumin, cardamon and ginger throughout my home. I think I could happily sustain myself on a diet of grilled pineapple alone…. provided I lived in a climate where it was sustainable to grow my own pineapple that is! Until then it is a guilty pleasure with a heavy carbon footprint indeed. One I indulge in very rarely but do so enjoy, especially with a spicy chilli kicker.

I served these roasted veg on a bed of brown basmati rice with a sprinkle of nutritional yeast, but as I was enjoying them I wished they rested on a bed of lemon wilted greens like spinach or chard … next time!

To enjoy this lovely dish in just 35 minutes start by greasing a large roasting pan with1/4 cup of vegetable oil.

Cube

1 large yam

1 red onion

toss in oil and season with

2 tsp garam masala

S+P

1 tsp chili flakes

1 tsp lemon peel

8 toes of garlic

juice from one lemon, quartered then added to the roasting pan

roast these veg at 350º for 20 minutes

then add and toss in the following:

1/2 pineapple cubes

3 large carrots

3 small spring zucchinis

Roast for an additional 15 minutes serve and enjoy.

One Trackback to “garam roasted pineapple & yam”

Leave a Reply

