drunken apricot jam

So i think this is the very best jam I have ever made…

and I don’t say that lightly. This is truly an amazing thing to do with apricots, maybe the only thing one ought to do with apricots, booze em up drown them in honey and spread them on toast! de-vine.

Last week my sister in law arrived with a monster box of freshly picked organic apricots in tow, so we promptly halved and pitted them, and popped them into the freezer, knowing they were jam bound, and we had a lot of other garden harvesting to take care of first. She ended up leaving before we could get around to this jam so I threw it down the other night when I realized I had 7 wild sockeye salmons coming in from the coast and had to make some serious room in the freezer. This freezer binge also prompted me to FINALLY cook up the 18 lbs of grapes I had from last years harvest into a wicked grape jelly, as my vines are again heavy with fruit this season.

Now that this amazing apricot jam is made I am going to have a hard time shipping off half of this batch to my sis, and I may need to hide my half in the pantry so my family forgets about it.

I am totally hooked on Pamons pectin, it is ultra low sugar and it yields ultra solid results, if you can’t find Pamonas at a natural food store and you have to use traditional pectin, you will have to increase the honey content dramatically, consult the directions of the pectin you choose. And be sure your always super squeeky clean and precise when jamm’in so you keep all your loved ones safe.

You’ll need:

12 cups halved pitted apricots

2 cups honey

1/2 cup lemon juice

3/4 cup brandy

1 box Pamonas low sugar natural pectin

*** whole vanilla bean; see note below

Cook

In a heavy bottom deep sauce pan, cook down apricots with about 1 cup of water for about 8 minutes, until soft and mashed.

In a large measuring cup, measure  honey and to it mix in pamonas pectin (quantity for triple batch jam as per the pectin box instructions)

In a separate container make pamonas calcium water

Add calcium water and brandy  to the apricots followed by the honey mix, stir well and boil for 2 minutes

Portion jam neatly into sterilized and prepared jars, leaving 1/4″ space in jar.

Process the jars in water bath or steam canner for 10 minutes

yields 10 x 250 ml “oh my goodness so very delicious” jars * that just maybe my sister in law will one day get to taste 😉

*** Immediately after finishing the processing of this batch, I remembered I have a good stock of whole organic vanilla beans.. if I were to make this again (or should I say when I make this again) I will most certainly add a vanilla bean to the fruit and cook it down with the works, so if you have one… add it.

This was a big jam day … and tomorrow I’ll be vacu-sealin salmon and blanched heritage beans for the freezer, followed by some pickling of dilly beans.

One Trackback to “drunken apricot jam”

Leave a Reply

