all things apples (and cake of course)

I still have many an apple to address even after a million loads of apple chips, apple butter, and scones… I still had to make an apple cake!

I settled on testing a recipe from 101 cookbooks for Heidie’s buttermilk cake, but I used spelt flour and your guesses it apples! The cake was loevly with a slather of the apply pear butter I made last week, and a snowy icing sugar dusting.

When I tasted this cake.. all I could think was how lovely a rosemary brown butter version would be… maybe one cold winter day to come.

For this simple cake sift together dry ingredients:

2 1/2 cups spelt flour

1 tablespoon aluminum-free baking powder

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 cup dark cane sugar

pinch of sea salt

add and mix in:

2 cups of apple cut into tiny cubes

2 eggs

1 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup melted butter

pour into a prepared pan, I used a nice tart pan with a push through bottom..  a style of pan I use as often as I can. Bake for 20 minutes or so at 400

enjoy!

 

 

One Trackback to “all things apples (and cake of course)”

Leave a Reply

