chilli ginger kale chips

I was just barley able to get this picture taken.. as I had to fight off the family to keep them from dunking into this bowl for more kale chips!

On this warm and wet Sunday afternoon my daughter was after something to keep her occupied so I challenged her to make her own kale chips (as she had been asking me for weeks to make some but I just wasn’t ready to give up the last of my harvest, at least not  for a snack food that wasn’t always on the top of my favourites list!) But when your 9 year old is begging for you to let her snack on more kale… how can you say no?

So I sent her out to the garden and she returned with a huge colander full of pretty purple kale leafs, which she washed and chopped and removed the stocks from, then she created this great marinade :

In a small bowl combine:

1/2 tbsp miso

2 tbsp spoons nutritional yeast

1/3 cup braggs

1/3 cup rice vinegar

1/3 cup soy sauce

1/3 cup lemon juice

1 tbsp chili oil

1 minced garlic clove

1″ of minced ginger

Mix well then pour over kale bits and get your hands in there and really rub the marinade into the kale. lay the bits on your dehydrators sheets and dry at low heat for about 4 hours (start the first hour on high then reduce heat for the last 3)

Yum we all just loved the chilli hit at the end and the zesty bright flavours… and the whole batch is nearly devoured as I sit here writing not 10 minutes after removing them from the drying racks.

Leave a Reply

