puffy lentil pillows

I had a total baking disaster today, and my chickens were rewarded with my mishap, which I must admit had me utilizing very colourful language at a rather elevated range, for just the briefest of periods. 😦 Here is what happened…

My morning started out with a plan to make my most favourite simple spelt cream cheese puff pastry and stuff little pockets and rolls with the left over curried lentils I made in excess last night for this very purpose. Well I pulsed and kneaded and stuffed and pinched away to create a few dozen 3 bite pillows which I was certain would make lovely lunch treats for both my sweeties. Mmm the pastry as always was baking up to a beautiful golden brown as my first batch filled the house with the smell of baked goodness, the timer chimed and as I removed the first pan and set it above the stove top on a slow cooker (that hadn’t found it’s way home yet),  just as I was tucking the second and last pan into the oven I watched in horror as the 3 dozen divine little pillows, pan and all slowly slid down the back of the oven and crashed into the creepy crawl space behind my 60 year old stove! Cobweb and dust bunny laden I swept the steaming little pockets up and all I could do not to cry was think, at least the dogs and the chooks will enjoy these.

So after all that love and time and effort was poured in, I yielded about 10 little pierogi sized pillows and 6 sausage roll type parcels.. oh and about 30 happy chicken and two dogs that were thrilled at my mishap! What a way to start a day!

So as lack luster as I feel about this recipe the finished results likely won’t make it until lunch tomorrow, as my daughter hasn’t stopped stuffing these in her mouth since she got home, as for the mister, well he will be walking in the door any minute and I think they will have a similar effect on him.

I started as I said with this wonderful spelt creamcheese puff pastry dough… which is so simple to make. I then rolled in to about 1/8″ thick and used a biscuit cutter to create about 40 rounds, in each I added a hearty tbsp of the below quick lentil curry. Then folded the dough and pinched up the seems, brushed the lot in a egg wash and baked them at 375 for about 18 minutes (or until stunning golden brown). Do not throw them on the floor, rather set aside to cool and enjoy.

quick red lentil curry

In a deep cast iron pan start by browing:

1/2 large yellow onion

2 cloves of garlic

in a good glug of olive oil (it’s funny just how many of my meals start this very way)

let brown befor adding:

2 roasted red peppers sliced thin

2 tbsp thai red curry paste

1.5 cups of lentils, any colour will do

simmer with 2 cups of water

and season with:

S+P

tomato paste about 1 tbsp

a pinch of allspice, a pinch of cinnamon, and a pinch of paprika

2 tbsp coconut milk powder

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 cup of  squash soup (I had leftover from lunch which was great, but you could use extra stock or water alternatively)

Simmer over medium heat for about 25 minutes, or until the lentil are tender.

Enjoy over rice and the leftovers are just perfect in these  puffy pillows!

 

 

Leave a Reply

