red thai curry lentils + quinoa

This dish was born out of a bit of a “chef block” I was struggling with. I generally have too many cooking / baking ideas to even attempt to execute, but the past week I have been overrun with other ideas and plans and inspirations, and my culinary life took a little hit. I am happy to report I back on the wagon and these lentils were not nearly as dreary as my cooking mood, when I made them. And like all great soups and stew this huge batch was a million times better the next day. The family has been devouring them day after day, which is good news for a left over pusher like me!

Start by soaking:

1.5 cups of quinoa

1.5 cups of red lentils

.5 cups green lentils

In a large bowl of water for at least 2 hours (but overnight is OK too). When your ready to add them to the pan gently  drain lentils and any floating bits, then rinse and drain again before cooking.

In a large deep cast iron pan start by browing:

1 red onion chopped

4 cloves of garlic minced

2″ of ginger freshly grated

2 tbsp red curry paste

in a hearty amount of olive oil with a splash of sesame oil

once translucent add the lentils and quinoa

along with 4 cups of boiling water

season with:

S+P

a splash of lemon juice

1 dried lime leaf

Slowly simmer on low-medium heat for about 40 minutes stirring often

Add:

1/2 cup of coconut milk powder + 1 cup of water (or 1 can coconut milk) (more water if necessary)

1/2 cup of shredded coconut

and a drizzle of chilli oil

allow to simmer for another 20 minutes or so

Remove lime leaf and serve garnished with fresh cilantro or parsley. Toasted coconut would be perfect and if I wasn’t in the slump I was in I surely would have done that! Enjoy. It’s a big batch.. so keep enjoying!

Leave a Reply

