ginger pear cinnamon apple muffins

yum yum yum.

What a great use for apple sauce or as it was in my case apple pear butter (which I slaved over for days.. literally) back in the fall when I was drowning in apples and pears I made batch after batch of sauces and butters. I found I really love my ginger pear butter slathered on toast, but I don’t so much love the apple butter straight up… So this is the perfect solution for “using up what I have been putting up”, soft fluffy spelt muffins filled with oats, flax and hemp seeds with fresh ginger and shredded apple, all topped with a cinnamon sugar sprinkle, oh my.

In a large bowl combine:

1 cup grapeseed oil

2 cups of apple butter or apple sauce

3 eggs fresh and still warm from my feathered friends

1″ fresh grated ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

3 cups of spelt flour

1 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup flax course ground

1/2 cup hemp seeds

and a pinch of sea salt

 

Spoon batter (which is thick) into oiled muffin pans, sprinkle with cinnamon sugar and bake at 350 for about 20-25 minutes, or until golden brown and a toothpick come out clean.

happy pantry snacking.

 

2 Comments to “ginger pear cinnamon apple muffins”

  1. I am excited to try this! Where do you purchase your hemp seeds?

    • Currently I am doing mini distribution (among friends and a couple businesses here) of organic hemp products from a wonderful Hemp-Co-operative in central Canada. They use no till technologies on their crops (which keep all the lovely microbes alive) and they use vermicompost fertilizer (which add many more wonderful microbes to the earth), the products are great and as you can tell I use hemp everything as often as I can! I hope you enjoy this recipe!

Leave a Reply

