green onion cakes

I think the only place I have ever had this delicious street food is at the Edmonton Fringe Festival, and for me this flavour is synonymous with crowds and summer and theatre and my cousins. I can’t believe more street vendors haven’t cracked into this easy and yummy vegetarian festival food market.

I stumbled across a recipe for green onion cakes last week and have been dreaming about them ever since.

This dough is so silky and simple… just flour and water. I used organic white wheat flour for this recipe (and paid dearly for my indulgence later, as I do with white wheat always) … somethings just require the softest whitest flours to work, and I think this is just  such a glutinous occasion.

I was imagining this flour as a thin dumpling dough for steamed buns, and I think it would work great in these types of applications. I plan to try this with a really white spelt, and to steam it and see if it reacts as I imagine it might! If is works you’ll hear about it.. otherwise the chickens will enjoy it! They are far less picky than I.

You’ll need just these 6 simple things:

flour, water, green onions (about 5), sea salt, veggie oil, sesame oil.

 

In a small boil combine 1/3 cup organic veggie oil with a drizzle of sesame oil, and set aside.

In a large bowl combine 3 cups white flour with 1.5 cups of boiling water, kneed for 5 minutes until elasticity and silky smooth. (I just kneaded in the bowl and skipped the flouring a surface and cleaning a surface step all together), form dough into ball, brush with a little of the oil blend, and cover with a clean tea towel. Rest dough for 30-60 minutes at room temp.

Divide dough into 8ths, and flatten each portion by hand, brush with oil on both sides, sprinkle with a pinch of chopped green onions, then fold dough over, and roll into desired shape. I made some circular and some more rectangular in shape. brush again with oil and asprinkle of course sea salt.

In a hot frying pan brown both sides of the cakes, cooking with a lid, so as to steam and fry at the same time. Each side takes 2-3 minutes to cook.

Serve hot with a nice spicy dipping sauce.

Sorry my celiac friends.. this recipe is NOT for you.

6 Responses to “green onion cakes”

  1. oh girllllll !!!!!! Im getting off the computer and trying this right now!!!! Yay!!! I was gonna make vegan tostada’s tonight and now I can serve this bread with the fillings instead of a hard shell….. yay!!!! Thank you!!!

    cindie

  2. I made a few changes.. I hope it turns out… I did half whole wheat flour and half unbleached white flour but it still needed more so I had to keep adding until smooth…. then I even added a dash of garlic powder to it….. Its resting as we speak…. then Im gonna do green onions and a little fresh parsley to each…. and i’ll serve black beans, pinto beans, green onions, tomatoes, lettuce and avocado with it as a taco/ tostada…. Im so excited you dont even know!!! Im so new to this whole vegan thing but its working for me… I’ve lost 27lbs already as I get healthy… yay! Thanks for all the wisdom!!!
    cindie

  3. it was soooooooo good!!!!! My meat loving husband loved it and it was completely vegan! thanks again!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

