smoked salmon pasta perefection

I made this dish a few weeks back, and totally spaced on posting the recipe. This is yet another easy creamy pasta recipe but this one features my own home made smoked canned salmon! The pasta I used is a beautiful shape which really holds the sauce and looks so pretty… no idea what it is called, but it was made in Italy and is a semolina egg noodle variety.

Start by cooking enough pasta to serve 4 to your liking.

Mean while in a small cast iron  pan fry:

1 tbsp butter

4 strips of lean happy local organic smoked bacon cut into 1/2 ” pieces

2 cloves of garlic finely minced

Once the bacon is crisp, add:

3-4 tbsp of organic cream cheese

S+P

1 tsp course mustard

1 tsp freshly ground nutmeg

Stirring often slowly add about 1/2 cup of cream then and add 1 can (pint jar) of smoked canned salmon.

Once the pasta is finished cooking reserve about 1/2 cup of the water, before straining.

Gently toss cream sauce with pasta and add some of the pasta water (just enough to keep the sauce silky and coat the noodles). Try not to break up the salmon too much, you want nice chunks… not cream of salmon.

Finish with a handful of chopped fresh Italian parsley and more fresh ground pepper.

What a great way to enjoy an indulgent pantry item like canned salmon!

* Anytime I eat fish (which is EXTREMELY) rare these days, I want to be certain of it’s origin, and how it was caught. The canning I did this fall made it easy as I caught half of it, and the local natives caught the other half, so having safe sustainable fish on hand is a real treat for our house. I never buy farmed salmon, and I never order fish when eating out. I don’t actually buy fish or meat at all in the grocery store, because frankly I just don’t trust the industrialized food industry  with the health of my family or my planet. If your still buying sole fillets from the grocery store, or bags of frozen prawns I would urge you to get informed on the current state of the seas and the food coming from it, you’ll likely be surprised and even horrified. Here is a post I did way way way back on the topic of seafood, which is full of some really great video and books to help you be a more informed consumer.

One Comment to “smoked salmon pasta perefection”

Leave a Reply

