sichuan + savoy cabbage pilaff

I am literally licking my plate clean as I write this entry, this somewhat uninspired hump day meal was wonderful and complex, bright and fresh! Yum I love it when a few simple ingredients and a memory of flavor combinations turn into a delightful dinner success. I rarely if ever use recipes for meals I let my inspiration come from what is fresh (from the garden usually or pantry these days), what needs to be used, what is left over and then I let my pallet guide the accompanying flavors. This dinner was born from a beautiful savoy cabbage and the memory of spicy sichuan dan dan noodles.

I started by making another big batch of seasoned sunflower seeds, something I like to keep on hand always… some sort of salad / rice / soup topper nut or seed toasted and seasoned, kept fresh in a mason jar for a couple weeks. The seeds I toasted today with sesame oil, 5 spice, sea salt and sichuan pepper.

Cook 1.5 cups of brown rice

In a deep pan fry in a blend of olive and sesame oil:

1/2 a block of firm organic tofu, cut into 1 cm cubes

season with a pinch each: chilli flakes, 5 spice, sea salt, and pepper

Once golden brown toss in:

2 celery stocks diced

2 cloves of garlic minced

2 cups of shredded savoy cabbage

a drizzle of sesame oil

a drizzle of chilli oil

a splash of rice vinegar

a splash of light soy sauce

a splash of lime juice

2 tbsp agave syrup

2 tbsp tahinni

freshly ground tsp+ of sichuan pepper

coat the sauce evenly over the greens and when the cabbage has cooked for about 5 minutes add:

3 cups of cooked brown rice

allow the flavors to come together for a minute or three, then dish up.

garnish with a sprinkle of toasted seeds, and enjoy!

* the key with most asian dishes is finding a balance between the sour and the salty the hot and the sweet, this dish is perfectly balanced… my recipe  is all done by taste so try to keep your splashes the same size and you should be successful… if the dish is too salty add more acidity, and vice versa, until you find the perfect cozy creamy punchy place to settle into!

One Comment to “sichuan + savoy cabbage pilaff”

  1. Yummy – even my mother who claims she doesn’t like tofu ate every bite – what they don’t know…

Leave a Reply

