for the love of nutella

Seriously folks I would NOT recommend you make this if you are PMS’ing like me… because I could seriously sit down right now and eat the whole pint of home-made nutella accompanied of course by a bottle of red wine. HOME MADE NUTELLA… did you catch that?!  Inside 1 hour you could make 2 pint jars full of deep dark nutty, and way better for you that the store bought stuff, chocolate hazelnut spread.

Enough said right! everyone loves nutella so get cracking (literally)

Last fall our friend gave us a huge bag of local hazelnuts and I all but forgot about them until today. What a great stress reliever bashing open nuts with an old hammer is!

Start by toasting 1 1/2 cups of nuts in a cast iron pan in a 400° oven for 10-15 minutes, then toss nuts in a tea towel and rub vigourously to remove as much of the skin as possible. If your impatient like me… leave some of the skins on.

Put nuts in your processor and blend on high until a nut butter starts to form.

meanwhile in a large pot warm:

1 1/2 cups whole farm fresh milk

3/4 cup coconut milk powder

1 Tbsp. local honey

1 Tbsp real vanilla

a pinch sea salt

Once combined and just bubbling, add in 2 cups of chocolate chunks (I used a blend of dark and milk chocolate), reduce heat to low and stir continuously until the chocolate is melted in nicely, remove from heat.

Then pour warm chocolate mix into processor and combine with nut butter until silky smooth.

This yields just shy of 2 full pint jars of spread. Keep refrigerated and make sure your jars are sterilized.
And don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Oh and now that you are flush with nutella try my go to all time best ever no flour torta made with nutella

6 Responses to “for the love of nutella”

  1. Oh gosh, this looks to die for! This recipe is not helping me with my cleanse, all I want is to make this and dive in!

    • Beth… this is sooo not cleanse approved! but rather a reward for when your finished. I am dreaming of a chocolate coconut shortcrust tart with nutella layer and a chocolate gnache on top! I have had this on sourdough rye toast for breakfast twice already! also NOT cleanse friendly… although good chocolate, real nuts, farm fresh raw milk, the vanilla you brought me home from mexico.. all good things!
      xo

  2. LOL!!!! I found this article by googling “what is worse for you Nutella or red wine” because both are my guilty pleasures and not great for the waistline. I was trying to decide which one to give up as an everyday treat. As for me I don’t have to be PMSing to have both!!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

