roasted spring potatos and brussel sprouts with creamy mushroom gravy

A beast free roast dinner! All of the “stuff your belly” satisfaction of a Sunday roast dinner, but with half the work and zero beast. This all veggie all gluten free feast was layered with caramelized flavours and drenched in a creamy  shitaka gravy… what more could you ask of a hearty dinner?

This morning as I set to work in the garden I had on my shopping list: onions , potatoes and garlic (sadly all thing my home grown pantry is now out of), but the joy of spring time gardening is the surprises nature has in store… like for example the 100+ onion starts I all but gave up on last year happily bursting inches from the earth… yay!, along with 3 lbs of delicious tender potatoes I found forgotten in a lettuce bed from last year, and the dozen or so little butter lettuce volunteers forging there way through the sheet mulch! This excitement of growth has allowed me to dip into my last  of my frozen veggie stocks and ready myself for the coming abundance; asparagus, rhubarb and strawberries, nettles and fiddle heads for a start!

But back to the potatoes… I had to cook them TODAY, as they were my reward for hours of cleaning and weeding and hauling chicken poo to and fro.

What a fitting ends for those golden nuggets! I slowly roasted them with brussel sprouts, gralic and onions , drizzled with EVOO and sea salt, ground pepper and fresh from the herb spiral rosemary + thyme along with parlsey. Roasted for about 45 minutes at 400.

On to the mushroom gravy…

I started by soaking 10 shitaki mushrooms in 2 cups of boiling water for a number of hours, I sliced them thin and removed the stems, but retained the soaking stock.

In a medium sized pot warm:

a good glug of olive oil and begin frying:

1/2 of a large yellow onion chopped fine

4 cloves of garlic

Once transparent add in:

A handful of fresh chopped herbs (thyme, rosemary and parsley) + 2 bay leafs

Mushroom slices

And a pad of butter (becuase for some reason I always add a pad of butter when frying mushrooms)

Season with pepper and a pinch of sweet paprika

Fry the mushroom for about 3-5 minutes on medium heat before adding:

2 cups of the mushroom stock

1 cup of heavy cream farm fresh

1 cup of hot water mixed well with 2 tbsp ORGANIC corn starch or arrowroot powder

season sauce with:

S+P

seasoning salt (homemade if you got it)

a dash of  soy sauce

and garlic granules if you have them.

Slowly let the sauce thicken over a low heat and when your roast veggies are ready drown them in mushroom gravy and garnish with more fresh herbs and Ta-Da Roast Feast!

2 Comments to “roasted spring potatos and brussel sprouts with creamy mushroom gravy”

  1. I have to say, I simply adore your blog. I have found so many amazing recipes (like this one) that I have tried and loved.. The gray was a perfect addition to veggie mix!
    do you mind if I share your blog on my blog? (www.theuncoventionalfoodie.wordpress.com)

    • Please share away!
      I am glad you are enjoying this place so much, it is certainly rewarding for me to keep playing in the kitchen and sharing my process with others.

Leave a Reply

