finally AMAZING corn bread muffins

Everytime I make chilli or baked beans or bean soup I feel inclined to make corn bread… and in theory I like the stuff, but recipe after recipe has let me down. I have tried it a million ways, on the grill, in a skillet, in muffin tins, with buttermilk, with butter, with honey, with maple syrup and while some I like more than others I have had more ho-hum batches than I care to admit. BUT FINALLY I found a keeper recipe for my house, and I am really excited to share it with you all. (did you imagine I said yall’ with a drawl, just now?)

Simple and straight forward next time you bust out the beans try this out:

In a bowl combine:

1 cup ground cornmeal

1 cup unbleached white organic flour (or white spelt flour)

2 tsp baking powder

1 scant tsp sea salt

1 hefty tsp of hot chilli flakes (if you like it hot, but its optional of course)

2 chives diced fine

2 eggs (fresh from the coop)

1 cup farm fresh milk

1/3 cup organic cane sugar

1/3 cup organic cold pressed veggie oil

Mix well and let sit while you grease the cast iron up.

I used my favourite cast iron mini deep muffin tin and greased each little cup with bacon drippings, ’cause like my grandmother used to do I always save the bacon grease (we only use locally raised happy smoked pigs and so the smokey flavour is a huge element in the few dishes I drag the drudge jar out for!) To do this effectively warm your oven to baking temp (which for this recipe s 400) get your cast iron pan nice and hot and then add a tiny pad of dripping to each cup, and with a pasty brush wipe the sides down with the melting fat.

Now while the pan is still nice and hot pour batter in and bake for 16-18 minutes (for deep mini size.. likely 24 minutes for a regular sized muffin tin)

I use this same technique when making skillet bread too. As I was making these today I was thinking that coconut oil would be really nice as an veggie option, and I think I will try it, now that I have found a really get recipe to work with!

This would be nice with some sharp cheese added it, or fresh jalapenos in the fall.

3 Comments to “finally AMAZING corn bread muffins”

  1. Love this recipe! I’ve been searching for a great cornbread recipe for ages too. Can’t wait to try this!

    • Oh I hope you LOVE it. I used a really course cornmeal which I think adds such nice texture… especially when you get the soft risen pillowy muffins I have been dreaming about! FINALLY!

      Let me know what you think when you try this out.

Leave a Reply

