chai chocolate pansy cake

Remember a couple weeks back when I posted this delicious spelt espresso vegan cake recipe, well when I was enjoying a bite of this dense and moist cake I though about how great it would be with chai spice rather than espresso, and so I busted one out to take to a lovely dinner party, and I was right… it was FABULOUS with a spicy chai kick. My daughter picked little purple pop up pansies from all over the garden and they were the perfect finish for this divine vegan dessert.

I didn’t tweak too much from my original post but I did double the batch to yield a whopping 12” spring form pan that made for 12 hearty portions (easily could have served 24)

I used in this recipe both a chai concentrate liquid as well as a chai spice blend. If you don’t have both I am sure just the concentrate (or a stiff brewed chia tea) would do, but you may want to add a pinch of a few chai essential spices from your pantry; especially cardamom and cinnamon and clove.

For this easy cake in a large bowl mix up:

2 cups chai concentrate

1/2 cup organic veggie oil

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

2 tbsp homemade vanilla

1 cup cane sugar

pinch of sea salt

2 cup chocolate chunks

2 tbsp chai spice blend

3 cups whole spelt flour

2 tsp each baking soda and baking powder

Mix well and pour into large prepared pan, bake at 350 until set (about 35-40 minutes)

For the icing on the cake, the possibilities are endless. I made a chocolate gnache and decorated it with pansies. A dusting of cardamon sugar would be perfect, as would: a citrus glaze, a drizzle of melted chocolate or a dusting of cocoa powder.

Whatever your combination of flavours, I am sure you’ll find this recipe as easy and surprisingly moist and fluffy as I have.

enjoy.

*Oh and sorry for the lack of posts… I lost my computer for a week, and am just settling into a new one.

Leave a Reply

