Archive for June 28th, 2012

June 28, 2012

garlic scape hemp pesto

The garlic scapes are  ready and abundant in my garden! Happy days! They are little preemptive tastes of the garlic harvest to come, and they couldn’t arrive at a better time! Scapes are the perfect addition to stir fry and can be used any where you would use garlic cloves, yet they are milder in flavor and more texturally present in most dishes.

My daughter snipped about 40 scapes yesterday, and certainly we have more to harvest (maybe even enough to do a batch of picked scapes!), so today my mind went immediately to pesto, and as I am flush in the omega goodness of hemp I whipped up a parsley hemp scape pesto that later will finish a batch a spelt gnocchi’s perfectly.

Pesto is like salad dressing.. you can taste and tweak it as you see fit. Some like it with more of a citrus kick, some prefer more earthy oil flavors, so here is my approximate measure of how I whipped up a batch to my taste.

In a food processor blend:

6 garlic scapes

1/3 cup lemon juice

1 tbsp sea salt

1 handful of parsley

1 cup hemp seeds

Enough hemp oil to bring everything together into a thin paste.

Thats it, your done. Now go ahead and put it on everything from pizza + pasta to rice + quinoa, even a slather on a grilled steak is nice!

enjoy.