raspberry sponge tart

As some of you know I participate in the Burwell General Store Recipe Swap, and each month we are challenged to put our own spin on a vintage recipe, The swap group has been on “summer holidays” but we are back and kicking things off with a lemon sponge pie… and while lemons may be in season somewhere, they certain aren’t here nor do they even grow in my climate… so I opted for a seasonal summer fruit a little closer to home… raspberry! My friend and master herbalist picked a few cups of fresh berries this morning for me just for this recipe!

I decided to do a coconut hemp graham crust made with organic graham crackers and maple syrup. Then used fresh raspberries instead of all that fresh squeezed lemon juice. I  finished this with a dollop of fresh whipped cream and one more burst of fresh sun warmed raspberries.

Here is the original recipe photographed below, the changes I made were mainly the fruit swap out and the homemade crust, although I did reduce the milk by half and still found the batter to be really liquidy for the small about of egg whites. I love the technique of whipping egg white to fluffy up a tart (especially when cooking without gluten or flour) this recipe all read a little funny to me… but the results were pretty + tasty, yet not a fluffy and thick as I would have liked… if I re made this I would reduce the milk further maybe down to 1/2 cup and add 3 more eggs.. try to get a little more rise out of it.

My SOLE spin on this recipe is as follows:

In a food processor blend together:

12 large graham crackers (about 1.5 cups)

1/2 cup coconut

1/4 cup hemp seeds

3 Tbsp maple syrup

3 Tbsp grapeseed oil

gently press this crumb crust into a small rectangle tart tray.

bake at 350 for 10 minutes, set aside to cool.

Meanwhile you can make the berry filling,

In a stand mixer cream:

2 Tbsp butter

1 cup organic cane sugar

slowly add 3 farm fresh egg yokes (set whites aside)

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp spelt flour

2 cups of fresh raspberries

1 cup farm fresh milk

Set aside in large bowl, then whip reserved 3 egg whites to soft peaks, and gently fold whites into berry batter.

Pour battre into tart crust and bake at 350 for about 45 minutes until the top starts to brown ever so slightly and it seem set. Be sure to fill the tart to the very tip top, as this batter is heavy and settles low.

Allow to cool before finishing with a dollop of whipped cream and a sprinkle of more berries.

I hope you enjoy this darling summertime tart, and be sure to check out everyones else’s lemon sponge pie adaptions by using the link below:



9 Comments to “raspberry sponge tart”

  1. Wow!!! This looks amazing. What a thoughtful reinterpretation of the original. This crust in particular looks delicious and textured… and I love that raspberries are in season there. Our season passed about two months ago in SoCal!
    I’m happy we’re a big happy group again, and as always, I’m looking forward to seeing your next creative post!

  2. Wow that looks great! I’d love a slice or two!

  3. How lovely that you got raspberries picked just for this recipe! That’s one special tart!

  4. this looks absolutely lovely and I can tell you put a lot of thought and care into this swap

  5. This look amazing – what a wonderful take on the recipe swap.

  6. Okay you rocked out this month. This is beyond impressive. Great swap creation.

  7. Such a great idea to use hemp and coconut for the crust. And the raspberries add a nice color pop!

Leave a Reply

