chili pickling spice blend

With my cucumber abundance these days it’s time to get crafty and try out a few pickle recipes and nail down a family favorite! To do so I needed a pickling spice and I wasn’t about to buy some at the store, so I made myself a simple spice blend and as you may well know I certainly love all things fiery and spicy, and my pickles are no exception, so I kicked up the heat in my blend.

I found a recipe to guide me through the perfect pickling spice creation in my go-to canning book “Stocking up” By Carol Hupping & the Staff of the Rodale Food Center. I tweaked the recipe ever so slightly, mainly just by adding extra heat and juniper berries. I also finally got to use these lovely cinnamon chips I have had for a year or more, they are two small to grate and really need to be using in something just like this, a course infusing spice blend. So here is what I made, and later this week I will share how I am using it.

In a small bowl combine the following whole spices:

2 Tbsp peppercorns

2 Tbsp mustard seeds

1 Tbsp coriander seeds

1 Tbsp cardamon seeds

1 Tbsp all spice seed

2 Tbsp of crushed whole bay leafs

1 Tbsp cinnamon chips (or 1 cinnamon sticks)

4 whole crushed chilies (or 1-2 if you are feint of heart)

1 Tbsp red chili flakes (optional for extra heat)

1 Tbsp juniper berries

* the original recipe also called for 1 Tbsp ginger root… which I have none of, so I simply omitted. Don’t substitute powdered spices for whole ones or your pickles will be murky and discolored.

Keep the lot in a sealed mason jar and use in pickling recipes as instructed!

One Trackback to “chili pickling spice blend”

Leave a Reply

