sneaky cheesy herb squash bread

There is a saying I love…. “if you haven’t got any zuchinni, then you haven’t got any friends”, well I am blessed with both, as I am sure many of you this time of year are too! So what to do with all this damn zuchinni?

My sweetie resents my baking anything chocolaty with hidden veggies in it.. so I was hunting for a more savory approach when I stumbled upon a Jamie Oliver (bless him, my celebrity crush) recipe for cheesy zucchini bread. I gave it a go and it was fabulous, obviously I put my standard SOLE spin on it (never one for following orders to well) the bread was dense and rich, packed with herbs and whole spelt goodness. I used yellow star burst squash because it makes the bread look even cheesier. It past my sweet heart test and I plan to make a 4x batch tomorrow and fill the freezer with some extra loafs… they are perfect for a hearty bowl of soup or as an open faced fried egg sandwhich!

In a large bowl mix:

500 g spelt flour

make a well in the center and add:

1/2 cup warm water

1 tbsp yeast

1 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp salt

combine with a fork then add:

3 cups of shredded squash

1 handful of fresh chopped herbs (what ever is abundant)

2 handfuls of shredded cheese, again whatever you have

Mix until you have a sticky dough.

You may need to add another splash of water, if your squash is old or dry.

Kneed on a lightly floured surface for 5 minutes (don’t compensate for the stickiness by adding more flour)

Oil a bowl and your hand and form dough into round, set in bowl, cover with a clean tea towel and let to rise for 30 minutes (somewhere warm and draft free)

Punch down and form again, place in lined oiled loaf pan, and allow to rise for anther 30 minutes.

Finally bake for 45-55 minutes at 350 until deeply golden and firm. Cool completely before serving.

This loaf makes for delicious toast!

Leave a Reply

