chutney canning

I have a “Kootenay Mom” my mother in law appointed our regional mother when we moved to a new province, and far away from our folks. My Kootenay mom is a super woman, her garden is magnificent and her husband and her grow all of their own food for half the year right here in the Kootenays and then pack up their VW bus with all of their homegrown food canned and preserved foods, and head south to live in Mexico for half of the year, where they promptly get canning tropical fruit salsas and chutneys to bring back north with them in the spring. Truly an inspiring year of eating and growing. She has shared so many delicious relishes and chutney with us over the years, and just the other day I called her for her fabulous plum chutney recipe, which I am inclined to share with you all, because it’s great, I am drowning in plums so likely this will not be the last canned plum recipe you see here.

Violets Plum Preserves: Chutney

3 lbs plums, chopped and pitted

1 lb apple chopped and cored

2 galic cloves chopped

1 large onion chopped

2 cups brown sugar (I used cane)

1 pint vinegar (I used 1/2 apple cider half white)

1 tbsp ginger (I used fresh grated, but dried is fine)

2 tsp cloves

½ tsp cayenne

1 tbsp salt

(I added 1 tbsp tamarid paste too)

Coarsely chop all ingredients and bring to a boil in a large heavy bottom pot for 25-35 minutes. Use a submersion blender to reach desired constancy.

Portion into sterilized jars and hot water bath process for 15 minutes leaving ½” head space.

Leave a Reply

