honey cream ale mustard

Ooooh almost as exciting as making homemade ketchup, or homemade nutella, is mustard making … fancy grainy flavored mustard I might add! The whole process will leave you wondering why on earth you’d ever bother paying $10 for a jar of fancy mustard again! It takes two days, but has very few steps. I used the Food in Jars recipe for grainy white wine mustard, to guide me and ended up  tweaking it a little… which when canning is not recommended unless you keep the acid levels the same (which usually means NOT adding and extra veggies or tweaking the volume of acidic additions)

In a pot bring to a boil:

2 cups of cream ale

1 cup yellow mustard seeds

1/2 cup brown mustard seeds

Once boiling cover with lid and remove from heat, let sit overnight.

The next day process with 2 cups of hot water until your reach desired consistency of broken seeds.

(my food processor is kinda crap, so I wondered if I might have had better luck grinding some of the seeds in a mortar and pestle before the first boil… and I might try that next time)

Return to pot and heat to a boil along with these lovely flavor additions:

2 cups of apple cider vinegar

2/3 cup honey

2 tbsp garlic granules

1 tbsp sea salt

1 tbsp black pepper

1 tbsp chili flakes

2 tbsp lemon juice

Reduce heat to a simmer and allow to thicken for about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile sterilize your jars (this batch will yield 3 pints, or 6 lovely gift sized half pints)

Portion mustard into hot sterilized jars, and water bath process for 15 minutes.

* I was recently gifted some of these fabulous vintage jars by a fellow canner extraordinaire  (thanks Cindy), so I opted to fill this rubber gasket 1 L jar and keep it in the fridge rather than processing it. I did make a few extra jars for my sweet sister in law, who helped me get the mustard going the night before (thanks Dayna).

Leave a Reply

