community chutney

This is the grand prize winning chutney in the salsa ‘n such category of our 1st annual pickle palooza! I called it community chutney because my community supported this deliciousness entirely… I grew some of the ingredients, my friends grew others, yet more friends helped me pick even more of the ingredients from other friends land, and then my friends mom shared her famous (and likely secret) chutney recipe with me. I adapted the recipe to work with the fruit I had in abundance and the results were exceptional! This sweet and zingy chutney is the perfect accompaniment for most any curry or rice dish, meat pie, or any flakey tasty appy that needs dunking. So here is my spin on this fabulous recipe (which I will keep it’s original form a secret for Carol)

Community Chutney

2 cups apple cider vinegar

1 medium onion, finely chopped

1/2 cup water

1 Tbsp fresh ginger

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 garlic clove, minced

1 tsp dried chili pepper

2 1/2 cups cane sugar

2 cups apple pieces

2 cups whole pitted plums

1/2 cup raisins

Combine first nine Ingredients.  Bring to boil and cook over low heat for 15 minutes.

Add sugar, fruit and cook until fruit is soft and thickened slightly, about one hour.

Portion into sterilized jars and hot water bath process for 15 minutes.

One Trackback to “community chutney”

Leave a Reply

