slow cooker curry vindaloo

I could call this meatball curry, but not because the curry has meatballs in it… but because it has our friends cow “meatball” in it, and oh boy is he tasty! I made a leek and potato soup today for lunch and at the same time I filled the slow cooker with my favorite Indian flavors and let the lot cook down for about 6 hours,  upon taking my first bite, I new I had to share this recipe with you all! This might be the best curry I have ever made, you gotta try this!

Here is what I threw in my fancy pressure slow cooker:

2 chopped onions

4 cloves of garlic minced

5 medium tomatos finely chopped

1/2 of a leek finely chopped

2″ of freshly grated garlic

2 tbsp of vindaloo paste

1 tbsp garam masala ( I can’t hype chamela giri’s blend enough, I can’t live without it)

2 tsp tumeric

1 tsp cayanne

1 tsp chili flakes

a pinch of sea salt

1 half cinnamon stick

1 can of coconut milk

2 tbsp tomato paste

a pad of butter

In a cast iron pan with a good drizzle of oil quickly sear bite sized bits of beef stew meat until most pieces are browned on two to three sides as your searing them off sprinkle with a touch more garam masala spice.

Add the meat to the slow cooker, and deglaze the searing pan with a splash of coconut milk water, and add that to the pot too.

Cook for 4-6 hours, and you will be rewarded with a divine smelling house and a lovely meal.

Right before serving add 1 cup of green peas and allow them to warm through before adding a fresh grating of ginger, salt as needed and a garnish with cilantro. Enjoy over brown rice.

OMG good stuff.

2 Comments to “slow cooker curry vindaloo”

  1. We made this tonight and it was FANTASTIC! I’m a lazy slow cooker, so I didn’t sear the meat in the pan in advance. Still, the stew meat turned out incredibly tender and this dish was so flavorful. I omitted the cayenne, reduced the chili flakes and reduced the vindaloo to accommodate the younger eaters here, but it was still amazingly delicious! Thanks for the recipe, Shauna. It will be in our regular rotation!

    • Tabitha, Hi!
      I am thrilled you guys enjoyed this dish! We love it and have made it a number of time since posting this and always enjoy it’s ease and rich flavors! happy new year!

Leave a Reply

