Archive for December 4th, 2012

December 4, 2012

honey mustard beans and tofu

tofu beans and kale

For my veggie friends as promised a lovely bunny free dish. I love the combination of tofu and beans. The crunchy golden fried tofu bits along with melt in your mouth saucy beans, laced with crisp bitter greens. This one of the flavors I desire most.

I used to fret a lot about bean cooking, mainly because I always forgot to soak the beans first, and didn’t plan ahead very well. I have finally got around that by using a pressure cooker, which allows me to cook dried beans in minutes, which means that on a whim I can bang out a beanie meal without breaking a sweat. Sure you can use canned beans, but I find the taste and texture of dried beans much nicer… also I try to avoid brining home extra garbage by way of tin cans, most of which (in fact all but a mean few companies) have BPA liners in the cans, another nasty toxin I try to limit my families exposure to.

So lets start with having 3 cups of cooked white cannellini beans on hand (by whatever means you choose to get them)

Tofu marinate

cube 1/2 block of organic tofu into 1″ pieces

toss in:

2 tbsp grainy mustard

2 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp tahini

2 tbsp olive oil

squeeze lemon juice

S+P

In a large cast iron pan heat up some nice olive oil and brown the tofu until golden, remove from pan and set aside. To the hot pan add a drizzle of olive oil and fry:

1 yellow onion finely chopped

1 clove of garlic or two minced

once golden brown add beans and season with:

S+P

squeeze of lemon juice

chili flakes just a pinch

parsley dried or fresh

1 tbsp grainy mustard

add in a pad of butter (or oil)

Toss in a big ‘ol handful of bitter greens, along with a splash of white wine, cover and let simmer and steam for two minutes, before adding the tofu back in. Toss and season if needed with extra S+P

Serve hot and enjoy!