when life gives you quiche… make fudge!

trio of quiche

I had a lovely afternoon of knitting with my backroad fibre-y friends on Sunday, but found myself stumped with what to bring to snack on. It was early and I was running late so I opted for a no bake sinful super berry chocolate number. Upon our arrivals we quickly realized 3 of the 4 of us, all made / brought quiche, and not just any old quiche but spinach and feta quiche, a trio of them to be presise! We had a lovely filo crusted cumin kissed variety, one with a rustic sourdough tart shell made with homemade goat feta , and one with a traditional flakey pie crust  laced with shredded carrot. What a delicious suprise! Good thing my chickens were on strike and I was eggless or else we may have had a serious quiche-athon! As I said I opted for chocolate and whipped up this super silly easy fudge, which actually went very well with quiche and snake bites on a snowy sunday in the slocan.

This fudge couldn’t be easier:

Using a double boiler melt over medium heat:

2 cups of good quality dark chocolate

1 can of sweetened condensed milk (I was surprised to even find this in my pantry… but I am pretty certain it came from a iced vietnamese coffee craving)

a splash of vanilla

Once combined pour into a small 9×9 square wax paper lined pan.

Sprinkle with 1 cup of dried berries (I used a lovely blend of super berries which included: goji, mulberry, & golden berry) along with about 1/2 a cup of hemp seeds.

Let set in a cool place for at least 2 hours before cutting and allowing small morsels to melt away in your mouth slowly. ahh.

This is like fruit and nut bars on melty crack! ’tis the season I guess.

festive fudge

Leave a Reply

