omg cinnamon bun madness

cinnamon buns

This would make for a lovely start to Christmas morning!

First off I got to use the Proof function on my new convection oven, which made this recipe a real treat, but the sweet dough itself was to die for! It was so very lovely to work with, dreamy in fact. I found the recipe through Chef Michael Smith (whom I really do admire for focusing on local Canadian seasonal food often), My daughter requested  we make cinnamon buns and as I have no go to recipe I hit the net, when I found Michael Smiths recipe I knew I could trust it, he has a way about his cooking I really resonant with, I love how he cooks with his nose and without stuffy measurements.

Anyway I didn’t make any changes (which is soooo unlike me) I only added a slathering of maple cream cheese frosting on the warmed soft and perfectly baked buns. Did I say how delightful this dough was already? the initial rise was huge, after a punching and re rising it really started to shine, then after forming and sheeting the buns and a 2 hour proofing in the oven the buns were huge and almost marshmallowy.

To make the dough start by warming in a small pot:

1 cup milk
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla

Heat gently until the butter is melted, don’t boil

then in a stand mixer combine:
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups flour
1 package instant yeast (7 grams)

slowly 1 at a time add 4 eggs

when combined change from the paddle attachment to the dough hook and add an additional 2 cups of flour

mix for 5 minutes then see aside to rise four at least an hour, after that punch down the dough and allow to rise again for another hour.

then in a bowl combine filling and get set to rol out the cinnamon buns.

For the filling mix:
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon

On a well floured surface kneed the dough for a mite then portion into 2 halves.

Roll the first half into a large rectangle about 1/8″ thick, spread with 1/2 of the filling material, then roll entire sheet into a large log and slice into 1 1/2″ sections place them on a buttered sheet and let proof for another hour or so, before baking in a 350 oven for about 18-25 minutes until golden brown.

Once cooled, slather with maple cream cheese frosting ( 1 cup cream cheese, 2 cups icing sugar and 3 tbsp maple syrup) and serve to delighted masses. These buns were so soft and airy, not at all heavy or thick. there were about as perfect as any cinnamon bun one might dream of.

absolute omg cinnamon bun divinity!

Leave a Reply

