beef + beans

beef + beans

This is a fabulous combination of flavors, and if your a fan of beef and broccoli then likely you will love this… I myself don’t really enjoy any western style deep fried gooey sweet chinese foods, but I do love deep rich ethnic flavors, and I am sure I would enjoy eating my way across China, if given the opportunity. I made this dish using (of course) our happy local beef, and actually I used a pack of stew meat, which I beat senseless with a cast iron pan, and it was melt in your mouth buttery… and I mean buttery. I think if you are buying meat from a store you might want to use a flank steak or something similar… most folks around here break down their beef into a few choose cuts (roasts, T-bone and sirloin steaks) and the rest is burger and stew.. which means a lot of the stew meat we get is actually really nice steak cuts. So bear that all in mind when choosing a cut for this recipe, and if your still with me I will stress again the importance of knowing your meat! Source it from farmers who live near by, folks you can ask about the way their animals are fed and treated, and avoid buying meat from supermarkets! In fact meat, dairy, corn and soy products are all pretty terrible at the conventional level… I do my very  best to diligently avoid these products all together.

Lets get back on topic because this dish is sooo worth trying. You can use any greens you have, I just picked up a bag of lovely little green beans and some somewhat locally grown organic pok choy.

Start by cutting the beef (about 1 lb) into small bites then if your using stew meat  beat it flat with the bottom of a cast iron pan. Toss the beef in a large bowl with 1/3 cup or organic corn starch (or tapioca starch) and 2 tbsp garlic granules. Allow coated meat to rest at room temperature for about 15 minutes before cooking.

In the meantime make sauce:

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup coconut water

1 tbsp minced ginger

2 cloves minced garlic

1 tsp chili sesame oil

3 tbsp rice vinegar

1/2 cup cane sugar

1/2 tsp ground Szechuan peppers

1 tsp chili flakes

combine all ingredients in a pot, bring to a boil and set aside.

Now in a wok get a good amount of organic veggie oil up to frying temp (I used close to 1/2+ cups of oil)

* a trick I learned from a childhood spent watching “wok with yan” taught me to use a bamboo chopstick to test oil temp… if you put it in the oil and bubbles rapidly leave the end your ready to fry!

Quickly fry the meat until golden brown (about 6 minutes) remove from oil, strain to remove excess oil and add meat into sauce pan.

Remove all but about 2 tbsp of oil from wok

quickly cook:

2 celery stocks match-stick sliced

1 small onion finely sliced

1 pok choy stock (leafy bits reserve until later)

after about 5 minutes add in:

2 cups of green beans

pok choy greens

cook for 2 minutes before adding the meat and sauce to the wok.

cook everything for another 2 minutes, before serving over rice.

yum, give this a go!

beef + beans wok

2 Comments to “beef + beans”

  1. heehee…I’m a child of the “Wok with Yan” generation too!
    I used this recipe today to make the sauce for our dinner. I used pork instead of beef, and broccoli and napa cabbage for the veggies. It was sublime!
    thanks for posting it!

    • too funny. just yesterday i bought “Yan cooks Chinese vegetables” a vintage coil bound book, at a thrift shop. I plan to do a veggie version of this dish tonight… your post reminded me just how much I adored these flavors!

Leave a Reply

