balsamic fig + currant oat bars

baslamic fig oat bar

A few years ago, my sister-in-law and I made a huge batch of balsamic fig spread after picking stunning figs from her fraiser valley neighbor. I haven’t got my hands on any fresh figs since and my cheese and cracker platers have been missing that sweet spread for so long! Well when I was placing a big bulk grain order with our wholesale organic food supplier I noticed they had dried mission figs for a pretty good price, so I ordered a bag and today I set to work testing out a little batch of jam to see how well they would reconstitute and puree. Success! Sweet balsamic maple success.  This amazing jam needed a perfectly golden baked “oattie” welcome to my pantry so I whipped up an old school (super easy) oat and jam bar.  I will be processing a bigger batch of this jam soon and will post canning details then, for now here is the small quick batch recipe I used, and the details on how to make a lovely oat bar. 

picking figs

2009 fig picking (in high heels if you can believe it)

fresh figs

I really need a fig tree! look at these beauties.

In a heavy bottomed pan cook:

1 cup chopped dried figs

1/2 cup dried currant rasins

1 cup organic cane sugar

1 1/2 cups of water

2 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tsp lemon juice

Simmer over medium heat stirring often for about 30 minutes before blending well and continuing to simmer for another 10 or so mites (or until the jam has reached a nice thick consistency.

set aside to cool

Meanwhile in a large bowl combine:

2 cups of spelt flour

2 cups of rolled oats

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

pinch of sea salt

1 cup of organic veggie oil

2 farm fresh eggs * you could sooooo easily sub in 1/2 cup apple sauce and keep this vegan, I just happen to have happy chickens who are FINALLY laying again so am happy to use up some fresh eggs.

bring together into a moist crumble with your hands

Portion 2/3 of the mix into a prepared (oiled) pan (I used a 9×9 square and the bars were lusciously thick, you could stretch this into a 9×11 and make a thinner bar)

Pour jam over the crust I used about 1 1/2 cups of jam and had about 3/4 cup left over from the batch. Be sure to hold back so the jam doesn’t reach the edges (keep in about 1/4 in in from the sides).

Sprinkle the top with the last of the crumble (ensuring a heavier amount of mix reaches the edges, again to keep the jam from oozing and burning)

Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes, or until lightly browned.

Serve once cool enough to cut, and enjoy.

oat bar

One Trackback to “balsamic fig + currant oat bars”

Leave a Reply

