quinoa coffee cake + masala spice pack give away!

masala quinoa cake

Think about this for a minute… Gluten free chocolate quinoa cake laced with the deep dark flavors of coffee and masala spice, are you drooling yet? What about dreaming up winning $60 worth of the best organic hand-ground  spices ever?! Maybe I have your attention now?!

Today’s recipe is a tribute to my favorite masala maker; I baked a chocolate coffee cake to die for (gluten free especially for her), the recipe is posted below, but first lets talk about my eatingwithSOLE, first ever GIVE AWAY:

You all know how much I adore Chamela Giri’s hand-ground traditional organic masala spice blends, I always use them and can’t imagine going back to making my own sub-par blends again. Here are some of my favorite recipes I have shared over the years here that feature her premium masalas: masala hashslow cooker vindaloo, kale + goat palak, my garden grown korma, cosmic chocolate chai cookies, roasted eggplant  masala, cinnamon chai hemp twists, channa masala guyanna style,  & chocolate chai pansy cake.

Well the exciting news is that Chamela Giri has offered up to one of my followers a masala gift package worth over $60! It features all of her spice blends ( a package each of her: winter chai, summer chai, chat masala, garam masala along with a package of her new and deeply divine masala coffee (which I am totally addicted to), AND 3 sample vials of her handmade all natural powdered perfumes!

masala coffee

The contest is pretty simple and you have 5 chances to win and must be a follower of my blog (if your not just follow your nose and sign up to the right to receive notification every time a new recipe is posted)

Once your registered doing any of the items below will allow you 1 entry into the contest, Do all 5 for 5 chances to win:

To be entered to win the masala gift pack you can:

*Comment on any eating with SOLE  masala creations (or this post),

*Pin any eating with SOLE  picture that really gets your taste buds going,

*Sign up to follow Chamela Giri,

*Pin a picture from Chamela Giri’s blog or etsy store,

*”like” chamela giri on Facebook and comment on her blog

A winner will be announced On Feb 15, so get clicking.


_MG_0645

now back to that cake…

Quinoa Chocolate Coffee Masala Cake

In a large bowl combine:

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 cup coffee (cooled)

4 farm fresh eggs

1 tsp of vanilla

3/4 cup melted coconut oil

add:

1.5 cups cooked and cooled quinoa

In a separate bowl combine together:

1 1/2 cups cane sugar

1 1/2 cup cocoa

1 tbsp baking powder

pinch of sea salt

1 heaping tbsp masala coffee

Bring wet and dry ingredients together and pour batter into a small prepared spring form pan. Bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes.

Allow to cool and before pouring a luscious layer of coffee gnache over the works.

Coffee Gnache

Melt 1 cup of good quality dark chocolate chips in a double burner, along with 1 tbsp of coconut oil.

remove from heat when melted and add 1/3 cup of cooled coffee, and 1/2 cup heavy cream

Stir until combined pour, spread per cooled cake and allow to set before serving, if you can handle being that patient.

But while your waiting enter to win our masala spice give away!

19 Responses to “quinoa coffee cake + masala spice pack give away!”

  1. Reblogged this on Chamela Giri and commented:
    Masala Giveaway!!! I teamed up with eating with sole to offer up a masala package worth over $60 and a over the top gluten free chocolate masala coffee cake recipe! There are 5 ways to enter……
    1. like my blog and comment on this post
    2. follow me on facebook https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Chamela-Giri/220758874620547
    3. pin a picture from my blog or etsy store on pinterest
    4. sign up to follow eating with sole
    5. pin any eating with sole picture
    Get on it….winner will be picked on feb 15!!

  2. Hi Shauna, Where can I buy Chamela’s Giri’s products in Slocan, Nelson or Castlegar? I am new to the area… Thank you. Claire

    • Hi Claire, Gaia Foods in Winlaw sells them, so does Emery Herbals also in Winlaw (actually Emery Herbals has the entire line)…. Maybe Chamela Giri will tell us who sells them in Nelson. I know her perfumes are in Craft Connections.

      • Hi Claire
        The Kootenay Art Gallery in Castlegar also carries my entire line and hopefully by April I will have a presence in Nelson! I have also done deliveries for people in Nelson from my etsy site.

  3. This is pretty much the best give away ever! After using a few of her spice blends everything else hasn’t even come close to the flavour experience from Chamela Giri’s. Also the last recipe of yours that I tried, the chai spiced chocolate cake, was to die for and had my co-workers swooning!

  4. I’ve followed your blog for a while now (with the link right in my bookmarks bar) and I adore the recipes you choose!
    I’d love to enter the contest so I have signed up to receive email notifications…and done the other 5 things 🙂
    cheers!

  5. I am familiar with Jess’s amazing masala blends and love them all – what a generous giveaway!

  6. Just went and pinned something yummy from each of your websites on my Delicious board here: http://pinterest.com/morgenanne/delicious/

  7. Hello Shauna and family. I just stumbled upon your site through permies. I began my “official” permaculture study in Colorado. Through observation of the practice through others I, discovering your discoveries is exhilarating and inspiring. There appears to be positive balance in your folks lives and I commend you. Not sure where life is looking to take me, but I can say many blessings on your journey. Also, these spice combination appear a Godsend, along with the fact that you are willing to share you home and learnings with the world!

    Love,

    Callie Claire

  8. I never ate quinoa in Germany before, but I learned some good recipes with it in Canada. And now I love it! Thank you for this quinoa cake recipe!

  9. I love Jess’s garam masala – it makes my cooking taste like I know what I’m doing in the kitchen…

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

