in a pickle

fridge pickles

Oh boy… life has bowled me over the last couple weeks, not only am I swamped with harvesting and processing veggies, visiting family and friends but I have been swamped trying to organize my community through a really challenging time. We recently had a fuel spill in our precious and pristine river, meanwhile a wild fire has been burning for 2 weeks on the ridge behind out little homestead.

So today after two rounds of dill pickle processing I opted for an easy out of my abundant cucumber situation… I made fridge pickles! Mainly because they are fast and easy… Here is the scoop:

In a large canning jar toss in all your little cucumber, add some garlic and seasoning (I added peppercorns and mustard seeds with a pinch of chili flakes) Then pour a boiling brine over, cover with a lid and let sit in the fridge for a couple week before eating, and try to eat them all within 3 months.

For the brine combine:

2 cups water

2 cups vinegar

2 Tbsp sea salt

1 Tbsp cane sugar

enjoy!

Leave a Reply

