ginger beef

gunger beef

This is the real deal my friends. If you are from Calgary you know what I am talking about when I say Ginger Beef, this is a homegrown Western Chinese classic, born in “cowtown” Alberta, this dish can be really hard to find all over the place. I don’t think I have actually eaten ginger beef  since I was about 16, but tonight I made a killer super authentic ginger beef, that blew my family away, and my guy is a total ginger beef connoisseur, he claimed it was the best ever, and I totally agree! I made it gluten free and of course the beef was grass raised grass finished happy healthy beef, I also made mine super heavy on the garden veg.

Now straight up this is not a easy dish to bang out in a pinch, it took hours of marinating and a double fry, with a wok stir fry finish. Lots of steps, but if your miles away from a decent Chinese meal and your family is aching for a fix, this is the answer. Pair this with my vegan hot and sour soup, and a batch of mu shu pork noodles and you are  off to the races… just need some fortune cookies to finish the night off.

step 1 of a zillion:

Get yourself a couple steaks (I’m no butcher so I am not sure how nice a cut these are, but I have a freezer full of happy cow, so I grabbed 2 top sirloin steaks… I am sure you could use some other steak cuts or even stew meat, cause this is going to be marinated for hours then get battered and fried, I bet a flank steak would work well too) The key is to cut the meat into long thin strips and be consistent in your size.

Marinate the beef.

Place your strips into a bowl and cover with this marinate, let sit for 6-24 hours, tossing occasionally.

3 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp rice vinegar

2 tsp brown sugar

1 tsp chili flakes

1″ or so of fresh grated ginger

Make Batter

1/2 cup rice flour

1/2 cup potato starch

2 tbsp oil

pinch of sea salt

Just shy of 1 cup warm water (add half then mix, add the rest as needed)

Your looking for a thick batter, you can let this sit a room temp for a couple hours if you want.

Ginger Sauce

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp dry sherry

4 tbsp rice vinegar

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup warm water

2 tsp + chili flakes

2 tsp + chili oil

pinch sea salt

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp + minced ginger

Prep Veggie for Stir Fry

I used about 8 small carrots to match equal parts carrots to beef, cut the carrots into thin long match sticks.

Chop 1 large onion into long narrow pieces

Chop 3 garlic cloves

Grate 2″ of fresh ginger (or finely mince the ginger)

Now Get Cooking…

You’ll need to batter and deep fry your beef. I used a small cast iron pot and cooked the beef in grape seed oil in 3 small batches. Each time I set the cooked meat over newspaper to drain. Then once all of the pieces were cooked, I cranked the heat and gave them a quick second fry to get them super crispy.

Once the beef strips are golden fried, you can fire up your wok, and in a drizzle of oil cook your garlic, ginger and onions. When the onions have cooked for about 3 minutes add in your carrots, and stir fry for about 4 minutes. Then pour your sauce into the middle of the wok and allow the sauce to boil hard for a couple minutes before tossing the veg and the meat into the sauce. Serve immediately with steamed rice and garnish with a little cilantro or chives.

Happy Chinese stay in night!

Leave a Reply

