gluten free coconut almond jam bars

gluten free jam sqares

Eager to bake something gooey and gluten free, my daughter and I set out to make some nice jar squares. These are similar to those really yummy mojito mint coconut bars I made back when the mint was flushing in the bog below. These days I am still flush with a big batch of refrigerator raspberry jam I made weeks back to fill those gluten free doughnuts with. I realized half way through this recipe I didn’t have any more coconut flour, and I decided to make my own, just like I make bean flour, or oat flour or nut flour… and it seemed to work OK. After a long ride in the processor my fancy shred organic coconut was very flour like and preformed well in the recipe.

In a large bowl combine:

1 cup ground almond flour
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup GF flour mix
1 cup cane sugar,
1 teaspoon arrowroot powder
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon ginger fresh grated
1/2 cup grape seed oil
1 farm fresh egg
1 teaspoon vanilla

 

Press mixture into 9×9 pan and bake for about 10 minutes until just set. Remove and cool.

Spread a good amount of jam about 1/5-2 cups over the crust (base) leaving 1/4″ un-jammed.

Then in a medium bowl combine:

1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 tablespoons coconut oil
1 cup coconut
1/4 cup hemp seeds
pinch salt

sprinkle over jam layer, pressing firmly around the edge to create a bit of a jar barrier (which will keep your bar looking neat)

Bake at 350 for another 25-30 minutes, until the top is golden brown. Cool, slice and indulge!

Leave a Reply

