saskatoon syrup slam

saskatoon berry syrup

Drowning in berries these days? I sure am. I feel barely able to keep up to the picking, let alone the processing!

My saskatoon tree is literally exploding the biggest juicy saskatoon berries I have ever seen! I find these berries a little mealy for my taste, not ideal for smoothies or jam IMHO, BUT dynamite as a jelly / syrup or baked in a pie!

I made a quick saskatoon berry syrup today using a little raw honey and a day of lazy berry dripping.

You can certainly choose to process this recipe in a hot water bath for 10 minutes to put it up for later, or you can freeze some, and refrigerate some to drizzle all over your next pancake breakfast, cheesecake, ice cream or even into a fizzy cocktail!

Pick de-stem, and remove leaves from a big ‘ol bowl of berries.

Cook berries in a heavy bottom pan with a little drizzle of water, over medium heat until tender. Smash using a potato masher or immersion blender.

Strain seeds using cheesecloth / strainer combo. (I left this hanging over night)

Once most of the liquid is through give the seeds and pulp to your chooks if you have them, and then measure your syrup.

* use this ratio for whatever volume of berry juice you yield:

I had 3 cups of thick syrup, to which I added 1 cup of raw honey, and 1/2 cup of water, 1 tbsp lemon juice.

Simmer over medium heat for about 10 minutes

Pour syrup into sterile jars and water bath process for 10 minutes, or pop into fridge!

 

Leave a comment