Archive for January 9th, 2012

January 9, 2012

sunny squash ginger root veggie soup

I spent this Sunday cozied by the fire in my studio setting up my loom, tangled in a million threads of wool, luckily I planned ahead and got the slow cooker out in the morning and made a fabulous sunny squash ginger root veggie soup… perfect for a chilly full moon dinner! I think my efforts in this dish amounted to about 6 minutes, and it took less than that for the whole batch to disappear!

In a slow cooker set to high combine all of the below and allow to cook for at least 6 hours:

2 carrots chopped

1/2 small pumpkin cubed small-ish

1 small acorn squash cubed small-ish

1 small yam cubed small-ish

1 small yellow onion chopped

3 cloves of garlic

2″ of fresh ginger grated

1 can of coconut milk

4-6 cups of water

a glug of olive oil

season with:

S+P

1+ tbsp chili flakes

1 tbsp of seasoning salt (recipe for my home-made blend coming soon)

1 handful parsley

2 tbsp paprika

When you are ready to eat zip the lot up with an immersion blender, garnish with green onions and toasted sunflower seeds and a drizzle of your favourite hot sauce. Mmm cold January cup-o-sunshine.